Recent Dots

February 21, 2007

Software is hard | Salon Books:

My goal was really more to write something that, if you were a developer, then yes, you might find it interesting. But even more, if you had a relative who was always wondering, “What is it that you do all day?” you could hand my book to that relative and say, This is what my work is really like.

Talking Microsoft’s Home Server on banks of the Rhein « Scobleizer – Tech Geek Blogger:

Aside: Google just switched to German on me. Why does it assume I speak German just because my packets are coming from Germany? Grrrrrr. Ich spreche kein Deutsch! It should know that I’ve been hitting it from this computer for months from the United States and that that is my home base. I can’t even read Google now, so I have no idea how to change the default back to English. I just did a search on “Rhein” and it took me to the German Wikipedia, too. Double Grrrrrr.

[same for me, but it switches to Japanese]


The Web 2.0 We Weave:

Maybe someone will be smart enough to learn / organize people’s thoughts / ideas / feelings and search will revolutionize from the poor “search results” experience we are complacent with (and have come to expect) — and instead we will each be empowered with the exact answers / information we are seeking at any given moment (using the collective information mass on the web).

Research is great, but Twitter is shipping… « Scobleizer – Tech Geek Blogger:

I just don’t think the [“boil the ocean”, “keep it secret, don’t talk, and ship something cool.”] approach wins many friends in the Internet space. Why? Well, it’s the iteration of things that gets us involved.

Leave a Reply

